Private Acts: Court System — Criminal Court

In some counties of Tennessee, a separate criminal court has been established which has the criminal law jurisdiction of the circuit courts.  The criminal court has appellate jurisdiction over criminal law matters decided in the general sessions courts.

The criminal court of Grainger County, by general law found in §16-2-506 of Tennessee Code Annotated, is part of the 4th judicial district.

For the general law pertaining to criminal courts, see title 16, chapter 10 of Tennessee Code Annotated.  For the general law pertaining to criminal court clerks, see title 18, chapter 4 of Tennessee Code Annotated.

The following acts once pertained to the Grainger County Criminal Court, but are no longer current law.

  1. Public Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 49, repealed the above act as to Jefferson, Cocke, Grainger and Claiborne counties.
  2. Public Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 90, created a judicial criminal district composed of Johnson, Carter, Washington, Sullivan, Hawkins, Hancock, Greene, Cocke, Jefferson, Grainger and Claiborne counties.
  3. Acts of 1885 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 20, set the time for holding the Grainger County Criminal Court to the fourth Mondays in April, August and December.
  4. Public Acts of 1899, Chapter 427, set the time for holding the criminal court in Grainger County to the first Monday in February, June and October.
  5. Private Acts of 1939, Chapter 482, set the compensation of the criminal court clerk at $1,000 per annum.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

All donated content on this site is the copyrighted property of its owner(s).

Links to external sites are provided for information only. By providing links to external sites, Grainger County TNGenWeb does not endorse any entities or take responsibility for the content or availability of any pages not located on this Web site.

Panorama Theme by Themocracy

Site last updated September 19, 2021 @ 5:41 pm; This content last updated April 27, 2011 @ 8:50 pm