1806 Petition To Change the Road to Kentucky

Petition 19-1-1806 to the Tennessee General Assembly


Citizens of Grainger and Claiborne Counties wished to change the road to Kentucky.  This is apparently a second version of another petition bearing the same title, but this one has different signatures attached.

Signers were:

Pleasant Duke
george [sic] willey [sic]
Thomas Turley
John McCartey
Moses Hodge
Dudley Mayes
henry [sic] Ivey
James hodges [sic]
Philip Ivy
Monoah Dyer
Joseph Dania / Davis
Walcem / Wallum hodge [sic]
William Johnston
John Ivy
John howel [sic]
Thomas Ivey
Jesse hodges [sic]
Benjamin Ivey
Robert Willis
Samuel Webster
Peter Harris
Robert Metheny
William Bryan
Alexandreus Callidge
William Iredel / Tredel
William Bunch
Josier [sic] Bryan
William Jones
John Clonch
Archd MacDonald
William Lay
Mary / Meery Littel [?]
Stephen McBroom
Saml Peery
Benjamin acof [sic] [Acuff]
John Lay
Jacob hunbard [sic]
Rheubin Cofee
Richd Walker
John Arwine
David Gentry
John Arnold
Alexander Donelson [?]
Henry Baker
John Bullard
Jason Cloud
Dudley Cox
Stephen Smith
James Eaton
Henry Medlock
Dannil [sic] Beelar
Thomas McBroom
John Shropshire
Robt Huddlestone
John Huddlestone
Martain Thornberry
Charles Matlock
Enouch Winds
Thomas James
John ___trad [?]
Ambose Goff
Thos. Grissom
David Collin
James Hines [?]
John McBroom
James Arwine
Levi Collins
Aaron Collins
Warham Easley
David Bunch

Source: Tennessee Genealogical Society, “Ansearchin'” News, Fall, 1986, page 106.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

All donated content on this site is the copyrighted property of its owner(s).

Links to external sites are provided for information only. By providing links to external sites, Grainger County TNGenWeb does not endorse any entities or take responsibility for the content or availability of any pages not located on this Web site.

Panorama Theme by Themocracy

Site last updated September 19, 2021 @ 5:41 pm; This content last updated February 5, 2014 @ 8:40 pm